Rep Rugby

The Barraclough Shield is the trophy for interstate rugby union matches between the New South Wales Suburban and Queensland Suburban representative teams, colloquially known as “Subbies”.  The Barraclough Shield has been contested annually since 1966, and was named after Lindley John Forbes (John) Barraclough AM (1926-2005), a former New South Wales MP and stalwart of New South Wales Suburban Rugby.

A Queensland Suburban team is selected from players within the competition each year to play against other amateur representative sides.  Until the end of the 2011 season, an under 19 representative Subbies team was also selected to compete in the annual City v Country Carnival.  An annual interstate match against NSW Suburban for the Barraclough Shield has been played since 1966.

As of 2015, New South Wales have won the Barraclough Shield on forty two occasions, Queensland have won five, with three matches drawn.  Recent matches have usually been played at Ballymore Stadium in Brisbane, but the match in the 50th year of Subbies Rugby in Queensland was played at Suncorp Stadium as the curtain-raiser to the Queensland Reds match against the British and Irish Lions.

The following players have represented the QSRU in the Barraclough Shield for 5 or more times:

Name Games
Stewart Cameron 5
Rex Harrison 7
Matthew Myers 6
Mitch O’Hara 6
Aaron Savage 7

List of Barraclough Shield winners since 1966:

Year Winner
2016 New South Wales 38 d Queensland 3
2015 New South Wales 62 d Queensland 13
2014 New South Wales 60 d Queensland 19
2013 New South Wales 45 d Queensland 0
2012 New South Wales 35 d Queensland 16
2011 New South Wales 12 d Queensland 9
2010 Draw 22-22
2009 New South Wales 41 d Queensland 21
2008 Queensland 31 d New South Wales 28
2007 New South Wales 33 d Queensland 19
2006 Queensland 17 d New South Wales 12
2000–05 New South Wales
1993–99 New South Wales
1992 Queensland 18 d New South Wales 13
1986-91 New South Wales
1985 Queensland 22 d New South Wales 13
1979–84 New South Wales
1978 Draw 6-6
1973–77 New South Wales
1972 Queensland 13 d New South Wales 12
1967–71 New South Wales
1966 Draw 12-12